Philly Silly

21 Apr

I came up to Philadelphia and the City So Nice They Had To Name It Twice… And it’s such a fantastic area and set of cities. I’ve traveled to both multiple times, but this trip refreshed me even more than usual.

A colleague and I drove through Queens and Manhattan AT RUSH HOUR no doubt. It was fantastic to pound through the city and the divers tunnels that feed the city, wow, just amazing!

We then took the train and cut through the downtown area of Philadelphia. It was a blast. Doing the Freedom Walk around Independence Hall, the American Philosophical Society launched by Ben Franklin just off Market Street, and the compromised integrity of the original Liberty Bell. I love the organic and unpolished nature of American History.

We then went down to the Old City, what a treat! The amazing historic statues and especially the memorials, particularly the Irish emphasis at Penn’s Landing. We, of course, scored a legit Philly Cheesesteak and some fresh Eastern Coffee from a novel Turkish joint.

The Silly part of Philly was the presence of working, clearly functional and well-worn Opium Bongs in some restaurants and other dives in the historic district.

The point is that freedom has a cost, but liberties sometimes exceed the intent of what the Founding Fathers meant when they said when Live Free or Die! We want to ensure that our freedom doesn’t become the cause of our unwitting bondage. Freedom is our best friend or our worst enemy.

2 Responses to “Philly Silly”

  1. RaeofSunshine September 1, 2007 at 2:54 am #

    Hey Cardoza, I guess people don’t leave comments, so you got out of the habit of writing these. Either that, or you got so caught up in happenings with school and the Verve, that it just didn’t happen. Nevertheless, thought I would drop a note and say hi and that I love the Verve and I am so glad that you are able to do it for us all.

    Like

  2. Rae September 21, 2007 at 3:36 am #

    This is really sad, but for the longest time now, I have been meaning to ask you if you remember the restaraunt where you ate the cheesesteak sandwich at. For my senior trip, my family went back East and we went to Philly and got the famous Philly cheesesteak sandwich. We actually went to this bar to get it. Well, it wasn’t just a bar, it was also an eating place, but it was awesome. The dining area was up this spiral staircase and the bar was downstairs. Delicious sandwiches. Though, if you want to get the BEST Philly cheesesteak sandwich, it is not at Philly, it is actually at Gettysburg. I cannot remember the name of the restaurant, I will have to ask Mom, but they are the best. Since you are a history guy, you have probably been to Gettysburg and seen the hotel where Abraham Lincoln stayed and you have of course ventured out onto the battle field there, right??? I am hoping I have had more of the “historic experience” than you have, but I don’t think that is possible. I mean, you are history, you are an old man. I am just a pup. Okay, I am done insulting you now. Back to what I was talking about. the Philly sandwich we ate was at Rotten Ralph’s. The one thing everyone really enjoyed about that place, was the receipt, and not because the food was cheap. Since the place is called Rotten Ralph’s, at the bottom of the receipt, it said “Have a Rotten Day!”. I loved it. I thought it was cool. Anyway, this is really pointless and you probably don’t remember, but this is killing time for me, so there you have it. Another pointless thing from me.~Rae

    Like

Leave a Reply

